2016 Lessons Learned?

For the longest time, all I wanted was to find my prince charming. I was in many relationships, trying to fill a really deep void. Thankfully, I’ve grown and I’ve learned because of them. Part of me was very sad about letting go of some of them because they were deep and meaningful. But now I am okay with being done and finally moving on because relationships teach you a lot about yourselfThey truly help you grow. At least they’ve helped me.

But here’s the thing I didn’t want to face, you cannot be in a relationship with someone unless you are so full that you overflow with kindness, love and joy. If you get in a relationship because you are lacking something, pretty quick, things will go wrong. Because you are dependent on the other person… big mistake!

I promised myself to not get into another relationship until I felt I was at a place where I was not trying to get anything out of my relationship but rather to give and to share times. I continued to search for my prince charming in hopes that he would come to my rescue. I used to put on so much pressure for the poor guy. He had to fulfill every single one of my needs. He had to fulfill even the unspoken needs. I continued to put my hopes in another human being. I continued to look for happiness in others and in things. I was not content. And the worse part was I didn’t know who I was or what I wanted.

Then this year it finally hit me… No person will ever be able to meet all of my needs. There is no way. DANG IT!!!

We are broken people, and we are made to live in community. To lift each other up. But we are not meant to rescue anyone. We simply do not have what it takes to save our partners. You can be there for someone, help them through struggles, be a support system. But nobody is meant to fill all your voids and expectations. Except you with the help of God!

At the end of the day, the only prince or princess you need is yourself!

I like to believe, eventually, if it is meant to be, I will find a partner that complements me and helps me grow. But finding that person should not become an obsession. Instead, I should try to strive to be the best me I can be, first. Try to fulfill my purpose in life. Do the things that lit me up. The things I’m passionate about. And live my life to the fullest!

This is for everyone, do not wait for a person to come to the rescue. Be the one who rescues. Love Yourself!

Do not wait for a guy to come be your light, there is a light inside of you. It’s time to let it shine and it’s time to brighten up your world and the world of those around you.

Life is short. Very short. It’s a new year and everyone has new resolutions. I am making it my resolution, to take care of myself. To find my passions and gifts and to put them to use. I am done waiting, it is time to start living. To make the best out of my time on this planet. Because it is true that the problem is we think we have time!

I believe we are awake and alive for a reason. I believe we are here with a purpose. We are called to live lifes that matter. We are called to be the light of the world. It is time to take ownership of our lives. Time to grow, time to change for the better. Time to finally start living your life.

Time to stop waiting for Prince Charming to arrive to start living. If you can’t enjoy life as a single person, don’t think you will once you’re in a relationship. Been there, done that…

Happiness is a choice only you can make! It does not come from external things. 

Take steps towards it! Be joyful, be kind, be a light in a world of darkness. Embrace your current situation, whatever it may be. Use your time wisely. Invest in yourself, invest in others and most of all, do not wait for circumstances to change. Do what you can with what you have.

PS – Here’s a shoutout  to all my friends and people who’ve made me who I am. You all rock and I love you deeply!!  This year I learned to value friendships and counseling more than ever. I learned you cannot do all things alone and other people have gone through your current struggle before. So why not ask for advice and learn faster?

Lots of love and happy wishes for this new year!

Andrea.

Leave a Reply

