When You Doubt Your Worth

This one is for you, yes, you. The one who thinks you are not good enough.

Sometimes it seems like nothing goes right, like you cannot handle the workload, your emotions, or your choices. Seems like you are just not good enough.

You see post on social media about your friends accomplishing great things, and you feel like a loser. You are not the one getting married, engaged, having children, starting a business, getting a promotion, traveling the world. And oh well, what are you going to do? Why do you let their success become your weakness?

Everyone is walking a different path, everyone has a different purpose. Everyone is overcoming their own fears, facing their own bad sides, and growing from it. Most importantly, everyone is special in their own way. Everyone has different talents and different purposes.

For example, I was always good in school but I was never good at music. That didn’t mean that my sister, who was a prodigy in music, was better than me. That just meant that I had different talents than her and this was OK. That was the way we were designed. Our talents were given as a tool for each one of us to accomplish our own unique mission on this planet.

I didn’t know this to be true until recently. So many times, I felt like I was not measuring up. So many times, I felt like I was failing. Then, I realized, the reason I felt that way was because I kept trying to please other people, kept comparing myself to others. I kept trying to earn someone’s approval and favor. Maybe it was my parents, my teachers, my coaches, my partner, my friends. I was just never good enough for them. This was such a huge lie.

…The truth is, you don’t need to prove your worth to anyone. You are a human being, you are a perfectly imperfect being. You are more than your talents or lack of talents, you are more than your choices, you are more than your experiences, you are a soul that lives in this planet. You have talents, you have experiences, and you have your whole life to grow. So stop thinking you are not good enough.

The power is within you because you are alive. You are a creation from the most perfect being. Be at peace with yourself, do not try to prove your worth to the world, it is pointless. You are worthy, you are not a mess, your life is not a mess, you can always turn the page and start over. Enjoy the ride, and love yourself. You don’t need anyone’s approval to do so.

Leave a Reply

